Astral Foods
Non-Executive Directors

Theunis Eloff


> TheunisEloff

Theunis Eloff (68)

(Chairman) BJur (Econ), ThB, ThM, ThD
Appointed 8 May 2007, Chairman from June 2014

Experience: Theuns served as minister of religion in Pretoria from 1983 to 1989. He completed his Doctorate in theological ethics. Theuns left the ministry in 1989 and joined the Consultative Business Movement (CBM). He headed the administration of Codesa and was Deputy Director of the Transitional Executive Council before the 1994 elections. From 1995 he is the CEO of the National Business Initiative. He became Vice-Chancellor of Potchefstroom University for CHE in 2002 and headed the merged North West University (NWU) from 2004. He completed his second term at the NWU in May 2014. Theuns acted as CEO of the FW de Klerk Foundation until 31 May 2019.

External appointments: Chairman of Die Dagbreektrust, the Trust vir Afrikaanse Kuns, Kultuur en Erfenis, die Trust vir Afrikaanse Onderwys and Die MOS-Inisiatief. Co-chairman of the Afrikaner–Africa Initiative, a joint initiative with the Thabo Mbeki Foundation.

Diederik Johannes Fouché (69)


Diederik Johannes Fouché (69)

(Lead Independent Non-Executive Director) MComm, CA(SA), H Dip Tax Law, H Dip Business Processing
Appointed 12 November 2015

Experience: Diederik is a former PwC partner and head of PwC’s Southern Africa Consumer, Industrial Products and Services industry practice (CIPS).
He served as a member of the PwC Africa Board and was chairman of the Finance and Risk Committee. He also represented the firm on the PwC Europe, Middle East and Africa CIPS Committee. He has extensive experience in the consumer industrial products and services industry, which includes industries such as Agriculture, Retail Consumer, Automotive, Health Care, Manufacturing and Transport Logistics, and has engaged with companies, global experts and industry on various surveys, trends and strategic issues.

External appointments: A member of the Audit Committee of Thebe Investment Corporation (Pty) Ltd.

Tshepo Monica Shabangu (52)


Tshepo Monica Shabangu (52)

(Independent Non-Executive Director) BProc, LLB, LLM (Magna Cum Laude)
Appointed 1 July 2013

Experience: Tshepo is a legal professional with significant experience in managing the commercial and intellectual property portfolios of blue-chip companies, both locally and internationally. She also has extensive experience in corporate governance. She was previously the Chairman of the Anglo Inyosi Coal Community Trust and a Director of Inyosi (Pty) Ltd, the B-BBEE partner of Anglo Coal Ltd. Tshepo sat as a Trustee of one of Royal Bafokeng’s employee trusts. She is the past President of the South African Institute of Intellectual Property Law and sat as a Trustee of the Legal Resources Trust. She was previously a member of the Ethics Committee of the Law Society of South Africa and Company Law Committee of the Law Society of the Northern Provinces. She also sat as a Council Member of the now defunct Law Society of the Northern Provinces (LSNP), a statutory body which governed the attorneys profession. She is a Council representative of the Law Society of South Africa at the International Bar Association (IBA). She is currently an Officer of the Bar Issues Commission and member of the Future of Legal Commission. She was selected as one of the World Intellectual Property Review (WIPR) Influential Women in Intellectual Property in 2019 and was awarded the WOZA Women in Law Award for Best Corporate Practising Lawyer, 2019. Tshepo was named Law Professional of the year 2019/2020 period by the SA Professional Services Academy (SAPSA). She was listed as one of the World Intellectual Property Review (WIPR) leaders in 2021-2022, and included in the Best Lawyer Intellectual Property Law in South Africa list, from 2018 to 2022.

External appointments: Partner and past Chairman of the law firm Spoor & Fisher.

Saleh Mayet (67)

Saleh Mayet

Saleh Mayet (67)

(Independent Non-Executive Director) BCom, BCompt (Hons), CA(SA)
Appointed 1 July 2019

Experience: Saleh is a Chartered Accountant with over 35 years’ experience. After completing his articles in 1982, he joined Anglo American South Africa Ltd (AASA) and over the next number of years gained experience in all aspects of financial reporting with ultimate responsibility for a significant number of both listed and unlisted subsidiaries in the AASA group.
Following Anglo American plc’s London listing in 1999, he fulfilled various roles within the finance division in Johannesburg and London and in January 2008 was promoted to the position of Head of Finance – AASA. He has extensive experience on a wide range of corporate activities and served on the Boards of AASA and its strategic subsidiaries and trusts. He was also a member of various senior management committees tasked with strategy, driving value initiatives and engagement with key stakeholders. He retired from Anglo American in March 2019.

He has held several listed and unlisted board positions in various industries and brings with him extensive experience across the full range of corporate activities.

External appointments: Non-Executive Director of Motus Holdings Ltd.

Willem Frederick Potgieter (66)


Willem Frederick Potgieter (66)

(Independent Non-Executive Director) BEng (Hons); Pr-Eng
Appointed 1 July 2019

Experience: Willie is a built environment professional (Civil Engineer) specialising in infrastructure and building developments as well as strategic management with more than 30 years’ experience in implementation and management of engineering and related developments through all stages of the project life cycle. Willie's previous experience also includes the management of government regulatory processes such as environmental authorisations, water rights, water use licenses, land acquisitions and land use planning. His recent involvement includes the development of two newly established universities in South Africa.

External appointments: Director for Oubos-Grootrivier Nature Reserve (Pty) Ltd.

Anita Deline Cupido (53)

Anita Deline Cupido

Anita Deline Cupido (53)

Independent Non-Executive Director BA (HE); BA Hons; BB&A; MBA; MPhil Coaching (Cum Laude)
Appointed 10 November 2021

Experience: Anita is an accomplished People Professional with 15 years of corporate experience and 14 years of consulting and coaching experience. She has provided HR executive and Change Management services to blue chip and multinational companies such as Woolworths, SABMiller, Santam, and AVI. In addition, she has partnered with Oxford University Press, Pearson, University of Cape Town, the Foshini Group, Simba, ATNS, KWV, BUSBY, and Social Change Assistance Trust where she provided consulting services in Organisation Development, Team Effectiveness and Strategy Facilitation. Some of her achievements include achieving Cum Laude for her MPhil Coaching. She led the Change Management effort on an ecommerce transformation programme, virtually. She successfully facilitated a large-scale restructuring in a global organisation, virtually. As HR Executive, she supported her Executive team through a six-company merger, including Board and Exco closure and preparation of Senior Management to lead Business Unit post-merger. She successfully led the change management effort for the implementation of a B2B portal across 4 000 broker businesses in the largest short term insurance business. She facilitated development of five-year strategy for non-profit organisation and shaped the client experience initiative for an insurance market leader, which included establishing a client excellence board. She has spoken at conferences, written articles, participated in guest lecturing, served on boards and been involved in volunteer programmes that uplift communities on the periphery.

External appointments: Independent Human Capital Consultant, Facilitator and Executive Coach.